Light Painting

Last night when I was about to go to bed I have something in my mind that is pretty interesting — I would like to try Light Painting.

A few months ago or three (when I still don’t have a camera yet) I read about the light painting.

Light painting, also known as light drawing is a photographic technique in which exposures are made usually at night or in a darkened room by moving a hand-held light source or by moving the camera. In many cases the light source itself does not have to appear in the image. The term light painting also encompasses images lit from outside the frame with hand-held light sources.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light_painting

Okey, enough for the definition. That night, I experiment my pretty “low-cost” digital camera. I experiment with the aperture, the ISOand the thing that I forgot the term haha 😀

I start to take a picture of my room with only a little light. And, I was amazed that my room look too bright as if it has a light. Ok, so after that one sample picture. I get my phone since I don’t have flashlight. My phone serve as the main source light (or a brush in a real painting). I set the ISO speed to 400 and the aperture to 2.5 (if I’m not mistaken with the term haha) and lastly I set the shutter to be open in about 8 seconds (that is the maximum time setting in my camera).

Everything is set. But, before I go, I have to put my camera in a tripod to stood still (you will not like the output when it’s shaky). Then, I start to press and capture button and I start to draw in the air using my phone with backlight on.

After 8 seconds, I finaly review the output and it looks good! haha. I draw different simple things like heart, star, lines, letters and etc.

I hope that I have a flashlight since it was too hard to draw using a phone haha. So, until then.Keep experimenting your digital cameras!

PS:
I’ll upload the pictures soon, very, very soon! haha

One thought on “Light Painting

Leave a Reply

